How can we help you?

Split tunneling. What it is and how you can use it.

What is split tunneling in NordVPN?


Update: If you are experiencing any issues with the split tunneling feature on Windows, please click here. 
 

Split tunneling is an option that allows you to have a specific part of your internet connection to be rerouted outside of the VPN. You may find it useful for situations where a VPN connection may be unnecessary, for instance, when dealing with a trusted application. 

This option is currently available on Windows, Android and Android TV

On Windows:

  1. Open the settings menu.

     
  2. Head down to the Split tunneling section, turn it ON, and then press Add apps.  

Experiencing issues? 

Look here and you'll find the latest updates concerning known issues and how to resolve them.

At the moment, it is known that when the split tunneling feature is used some services still appear to be affected by the VPN. This is related to the fact that although your real IP address does get routed through the excluded application, the DNS servers provided by NordVPN are still in effect, which may cause an issue. 

We are currently working to resolve this problem. 

On Android:

  1. Click on the gear icon and open the settings menu.

     
  2. Head over to the Split tunneling section. 

     
  3. Select the apps.

On Android TV:​​​​

  1. After you open the NordVPN app, scroll down to the Settings section, and click on Trusted apps

     
  2. Then, add the apps.

Related Articles

© Copyright 2021 all rights reservedSelf-service byBold360