How can we help you?

What is Keychain?

This article is available in French, Italian, Spanish, Korean, Japanese, Swedish, Dutch, and German.

Keychain Access is the macOS built-in password management app. It stores your passwords and accounts information so that you have fewer passwords to remember and manage.

When you access a website, email account, network server, or another password-protected item, Keychain Access offers to remember or save the password. If you choose to save the password, it’s saved in your keychain so you don’t have to remember or type your password every time.

The NordVPN app stores your account password in the keychain for safety and convenience. Every time you connect, our app will access the keychain for your password, and you may get a prompt to enter your keychain password. The keychain password usually matches your device password, unless you have changed it.

There could be a few variations of this pop-up when using the NordVPN app. If the Keychain pop-up is blocked, you can enter your Mac user password and select "Always Allow". Do this up to 5 times when the pop-up appears again. 


If after entering the password the Nordlynx (Nordlynxtelio) keychain pop-up appears, try to switch to the Open VPN (TCP) or Open VPN (UDP) connection protocol as described in this guide and connect again.



If the Always Allow option does not help and the pop-up does not disappear, try the following:

  1. Open Keychain Access. (Open macOS Launchpad and type in "Keychain Access" in a search field).
  2. Select the "login" entry (upper left corner) in the Keychain window and right-click on it.
  3. Click "Lock keychain "Login".
  4. Then try to unlock it.
  5. You may need to enter your Mac login password after that.
  6. Try to connect to our servers once again.

Related Articles

© Copyright 2022 all rights reservedSelf-service by